Serve with Compassion

Remember this- if you are going to be a servant, be sure you have compassion. People who come to you for help will rarely ask if it is convenient.

An important spiritual lesson learned from this chapter: if the Son of God came as a servant, then being a servant is the highest calling. It would seem we are never more like Jesus than when we are serving others. When we are serving those in need are we not doing the will of God? Remember this- if you are going to be a servant, be sure you have compassion. People who come to you for help will rarely ask if it is convenient. But, isn’t it a great privilege to follow the example of Jesus and meet the needs of others? Isn’t that the mark of a Christian life? Not everything for us but meeting others needs.

Read Mark Chapter 1  to go alone with this writting.

A note from me:

This is a rework of an earlier post on Mark 1 and 2.  I have broken it into a smaller bit and highlighted a thought that caught my attention.

I have an idea that my readers may be a little like me and and not have the longest attention span…..squirrel.

 

6 thoughts on “Serve with Compassion

  1. I love the piece about serving with compassion. Serving people is rewarding, but not easy and we need to be available when people need us.

    It is the same with parenting. You need to be available when your kids need you, not when it is convenient for you. When my kids were growing up, I felt I had to be like a flower rooted in the ground and my butterfly children would come and taste the nectar when they were ready. But if I were a butterfly too, not rooted solidly ready when they were ready, I wouldn’t have been there to help them.
    Patricia Paul-Carson
    http://www.parentingadultchildren.ca

    • I love the thoughts on parenting. It takes a lot to be available for them, when the time is right for them. It takes a lot of quantity time to have quality time.

Leave a Reply

